Made It!!

2

August 29, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

So today is day #1 of the Philadelphia adventures!  It has been a great day and I’m already having a blast.

I arrived in Philly to familiar faces of my cousins John and Jen.  It was great to see them and have friendly faces waiting for me when I got off the plane.  We went to lunch at The Standard Tap.  I had a half of a chicken salad sandwich the size of my head but it was great.  John and Jen then dropped me off at the hotel where I immediately started meeting new people.

There are 62 people participating in the Philadelphia Center program from 16 different schools from around the US.  We are going to start the housing process tomorrow.  We are also going on a huge walking tour of the city.  I’ll be sure to take lots of pictures.

Just a quick list of things I’ve learned today

1.  Differences are important and we should be aware of people’s differences.

2.  There is an iPhone app for the Philadelphia railway system.  I hope that comes in handy.

3. The the city of Philadelphia city is on a grid and I think its going to be very easy to learn!

Hope you enjoyed.  I’ll be sure to edit this post with a few pictures that I take on my evening walk with friends tonight. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Made It!!

  1. Maddie says:

    haha. I love how there is an Iphone app for Philly….what a life saver!

    Miss you!

    • cdobbbins says:

      Haha! The funny thing is that I haven’t used any public transportation yet but I should come in handy some time. I”m so excited that people are check out what I’m writing!

      Miss you too!

Leave a Reply

