It just keeps getting better…

Leave a comment

September 9, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

The title is half sarcastic and half-true.  Life here in Philly does keep getting better.  I’m making lots of friends, learning lots of new things, I finally have a bed of my own and the interview process should start tomorrow.  All of those things are great and each new thing that happens makes me love Philly and the program that much more.

On the other hand, it seems like the apartment that my roommates and I are living in would much rather just not have us there.  Where do I begin.  1. We just got our gas turned on today so that we could have hot showers and cook on our stove. Mind you we moved in on Saturday.  2. The couch that we ordered for the living room wouldn’t fit up the stairs so we haven’t been able to settle the living room, but that should be coming tomorrow. 3. The real kicker is that we have a leak, and not a baby leak its a pretty big one.  We discovered this morning that something from the upstairs bathroom into the downstairs bathroom.  So we have called the landlord, she has yet to pick up the phone but hopefully she will call back soon.

So needless to say we have really been learning some real life lesson but we are all tired of dealing with mishaps with this apartment.  I know I keep promising photos but as soon as we really get things settled there will be photos!

The internship search has started.  I had to complete a lot of research and narrow a pool of 800+ placements down to 6.  I am now just waiting to hear about interviews that will hopefully begin tomorrow or Monday.  My number 1 choice is a company called 03 World.  It looks like an amazing place and a place that I could really learn a lot from.  So, everyone please keep your fingers crossed for that, I would really appreciate it!

As usual here are the 3 things I’ve learned…

1.  I have been spoiled with access to internet pretty much wherever I go.  Not having cable/internet for the past week has been really hard and has made me really realize how dependent our generation is on internet and being connected to one another.

2.  Moving in with 3 complete strangers is quite there experience but it sure does bring you much closer in a very short period of time.  I feel like I have known Shannon, Meghan and Hayley for ages and I think it is going to be a great semester with those 3 wonderful ladies.

3.  Taking risks are very scary sometimes.  This entire experience has been a risk but each and every day I find myself more comfortable with the situations that I’m being put into and becoming more excited about how much I’m learning and what my next 14 1/2 weeks has in store for me.

Thanks for reading and I hope you learned something 🙂

Leave a Reply

