Work week 1

Leave a comment

September 28, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello Everyone,

Sorry for the very long delay between posts. It has been a very interesting week full of new adventures and new experiences.

I spent my first week working at O3 World and its been a very good week.  I’ve done some marketing research, website population and a few more odds and ends.  The people who I work with are great at what they do and have been very welcoming.  I’m looking forward to getting more and more responsibilities and really making my place in the organization.

Other than work the week was pretty good.  Class on monday evenings is great! Its my marketing class and I’m very excited to finally be learning about marketing.  We have read 3 out of 8 books already. SHIFT- Peter Arnell, Whatever you think, think the opposite – Paul Arden and Purple Cow – Seth Godin.  They have all been very interesting books and when I have more time I’ll go more into depth about what each of them is about.  I recommend SHIFT to anyone who is looking for a change in their life.  If you need some inspiration to think differently try Whatever you think, think the opposite and if you want to be remarkable read Purple Cow.

My seminar class Education and Difference at Work is really starting to get interesting. We have talked about social reproduction and social mobility as it relates to the education system.  If the education system is actually equal for each and every student and much more.  Its been a very interesting class since I have  not taking previous education classes or considered the theories behind the education system.  I”m learning lots that’s for sure!!!

Other than work and class I’ve been able to fit in some great activities.  I went to an outdoor concert of the Philadelphia Orchestra. It was amazing!!! They played some of my favorite pieces and it was a perfect evening to enjoy a concert in the city hall plaza.

Friday, The Philly Center took all 62 students to the Philadelphia Phillies game! It was a great game because the Phillies won. Our seat were pretty far way from the field but it was a great view. The stadium is huge and it was a perfect night to enjoy a game of baseball.

Saturday was another busy day.  It was college day on the Parkway! That means that all the museums on the Ben Franklin Parkway are FREE to all college students. So me and a few friends went to the Eastern State Penitentiary and the Franklin Institute. It was a great morning but there was still more fun to come in the afternoon.  The Philly center also sponsored a bus to a Celtic Festival in Bethlehem, PA which is about an hour 1/2 north of the city.  It was great to get out of the city for a few hours.  Enjoy hills full of trees and experiences the small town life again.  The festival was full of musicians, bagpipes, Irish dancers and of course food.  Saturday was just a great day spent with lots of friends.

Sunday I spent my entire day reading for class in a very comfortable chair, in a little shop called “More than Just Ice Cream”.  It was a gloomy day so it was perfect to cuddle up with some coffee and read an entire book.  That is for sure my new spot in the city for studying and relaxing.

Sunday evening a received some horrible news from back home.  One of my sorority sisters passed away unexpectedly.  It has been very hard to be here while all my sisters are at home experiencing this horrible tragedy.  My heart goes out to the entire Lloyd family and I wish I could do something other than just pray.

Please, tell the people you love that you love them. You don’t know what tomorrow will hold so do not take any moment for granted.  It’s an eye opening experience when someone very special passes away unexpectedly and I realize what a special organization I am apart of at home in Delta Gamma.

Check out photos here..http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=256404&id=647575773&l=d6e11a4577

So with that here is what I have learned

1.  Make the most of each and every day!

2. Never forget to tell the people you care about that you care about them.  It’s the small things in life that can sometimes be the most important and special

3.  No matter how many friends you have away from home, there is not place like home with friends and family during a trying time in life.  I don’t think I’ve ever wanted hugs from friends and family at home so much as I have the past 2 days.

Thanks for reading and I hope you learned something.  To each of you reading, you hold a special place in my life.  🙂

Leave a Reply

