Time goes so fast!

Leave a comment

October 12, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hi!

Wow!!! It is the middle of October already, I can’t even believe it.  I posted less than a week ago and I feel like so much has happened.  I don’t even know where to begin.

The most exciting thing that has happened since I last wrote was that I had a visitor!  My friend Madison from Albion came to visit me for the weekend.  She was awesome and drove all the way here (12 hours) all by herself.  She arrived Friday evening and left early Monday morning.  While she was here we did the usual sightseeing, the Liberty Bell, LOVE Park and the Rocky Steps. Maddie also brought both our bikes so we were able to enjoy the bike path that goes through Fairmount Park both Saturday and Sunday morning.  We also, of course, did some shopping which is always a must do in the city.  We had some amazing food as well.  Maddie and I both had our first Philly Cheesesteak from Tony Jr’s, it was pretty delicious! We went to two great places for dinner, Pizzicato (at 3rd and Market, which is in the Old City District) and Max Brenner (on 15th St near Rittenhouse Square).  It was great to have Maddie come visit and it was awesome to have a friendly face from Albion around for a few days.

It must have been the weekend for visitors because Josh Merchant, from Albion College was also in town.  He took all the Albion students out to a wonderful brunch. We went to the Marathon Grill and  I had, in my opinion, the best meal, which was Dark Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Pancakes.  I also had a great mixed berry and honey smoothie. Both items were amazing and an indulgence for sure.  It was nice to see Josh as well because I know that he is so excited about for all the Albion students in Philly, himself being a TPC alum.

I’m still enjoying work. Tomorrow I have a 3-way meeting which is a meeting with my supervisors at work and my adviser from the Center.  In the meeting we will go of the learning plan that I have made for the semester.  I’m really excited about it and I think I’ll really be able to express my goals for the rest of the semester to make sure that I get exactly what I want out of my internship experience.

Here are a few photos from Maddie’s visit.

The exciting thing I have to look forward to is that my Mom is coming to visit in 10 days! I’m so excited for her to come so I can show her the city and I really just want a mom hug!

So here is what I’ve learned

1.  No matter how much you think you feel completely at home in a place there is nothing like a great friend or a family member to make you feel at home.

2. Receiving packages in the city can sometimes be a pain. We don’t have a place that the mail man can leave packages so they always leave the package slip.  Then I have to walk to the post office (1 mile away) to pick up my package.  Also my work hours don’t really line up with the post office hours so it just makes things a little difficult.

3.  I love taking photos. I’ve known that I liked taking photos but now I know that I love it!  Photography has been a way for me to enjoy the city in my own way.  I love taking walks by myself with my camera and just snapping photos of things that I want to remember.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it!

P.S. I’m making some changes to my blog site and making it more of a website.  So right now there isn’t any info under the new pages but there will be very soon.  This all has to do with my marketing class and my semester assignment to create my ‘personal brand’

Leave a Reply

