A comfort of home

Leave a comment

October 25, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hey There!

Mom and I at LOVE Park

It was another wonderful weekend in the city of Philadelphia! My mom made the trek (by plane) all the way from Albion, MI to Philadelphia, PA to visit me and my home for the past 8 weeks.  It was so great to have her here in the city and I didn’t realize how much I missed her until she arrived.  It’s is always great to have a hug from you’re mom and you’re never to old for one.

We had a jam packed weekend full of food, fun and sight seeing.  Some of the things we did included, The Please Touch Museum, The Philadelphia Zoo, National  Constitution Center, Independance Hall, Rittenhouse and Washington Squares, Love Park, Penn’s landing and of course a little bit of shopping

on Chestnut and Walnut Sts. We also ate some great food including: Philadelphia Pretzel Company, Marathon Grill, Max Brenner, Sabrina’s, Reading terminal market, Famous 4th St. Cookies and More than Just Ice Cream.  Needless to say it was a jam packed weekend but we enjoyed every minute of it.  I loved show my mom my    city smarts and navigation skills and most of all I just loved having her here for a couple of days

Me at The Philadelphia Zoo

Beautiful tigers at the zoo

My favorite part of the weekend was our trip to The Philadelphia Zoo, the oldest zoo in the US.  I’m one of those people who thinks that you’re never too old to go to the zoo. I love to see all the different animals and it reminds me of when I was little and would go to the zoo.  Not only did we see some amazing animals from Tigers to Polar Bears and Hippos to miniature shrews we saw

I love giraffes! They are so cool!

some great kids (and adult) Halloween costumes.

It was trick or treat day at the zoo and everyone, (or at least it seemed like it) had a great costume on.  There were lots of animals and costumes to see and I think we saw just about all of them! Here are a few photos from the weekend!

So as usual the things I’ve learned….

1.  No matter how grown up you think you are it’s still great to get a mom hug!

2.  I might have a future in city tour guiding (or so says my mom)

3.  The Declaration of Independence was read to the people of Philadelphia in the square behind The Pennsylvania State House (aka Independence hall) on July 8th

Hope you enjoyed reading my post.  If you want to check out more of my pictures they are on facebook.  Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

