A little of this and a little of that.

Leave a comment

November 6, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello there!

Life is journey down bumpy roads just like this one

So I mentioned in my last post that I met the President, yep the Commander-in-Chief, the one and only Barack Obama. I wasn’t just teasing you,  It really happened! The story is one that is best told in person but I’ll do my best.  So it’s last Saturday mid morning.  My roommates Hayley, Meghan and I decided to get brunch, which is something that we NEVER do.  We first decided to go to a small dinner on 2nd and South sts. just a few blocks from our apartment, but mid walk changed our minds because we had heard such great things about the 4th Street Delicatessen. We arrive there and are quickly seated and the small restaurant is packed full of people but since its famous we didn’t think anything of it.  We order and then things get crazy.  We start noticing men in suits with ear pieces and badges that alone sort of freaked us out.  The men in suits just keep coming out from the wood work and the restaurant started buzzing.  Everyone at this point is a little freaked out because no one told anyone the president was coming! So we see police lights outside and cars start pulling up.  Before all this we had guessed who it might be, Hillary Clinton, the Governor of PA or the Mayor and we joked about the president but didn’t think it would actually happen, but it did! Obama along with his press and the tv camera walked into the 4th Street Deli, shook hands with may people on his way in, 3 of those people being myself and my two roommates. Then he was shown his table for two with the Democratic senator running for office, ordered a Ruben, Potato pancakes and an Iced Tea.  His table was about 4 tables from mine and it made for a very interesting meal. He spent about a half hour chatting, taking photos and eating and then went on his way and took all the secret service with him.  Long story short, we were in the right place at the right time and it is something that will probably will never happen again.  It was an adrenaline rush and it completely made our entire day.

Exciting still but a little less so,  my academic adviser from Albion College is visit The Philadelphia Center this weekend and it has been great to see her.  She is my professor, my life coach and my friend and as always its great to see a familiar face from home.

It’s hard to believe that time is going so fast.  It’s only 3 weeks till Thanksgiving which means only 3 weeks till I see my entire family and get to celebrate my birthday and then will return for the final 3 weeks of my time in Philly.  I can’t yet imagine leaving this place that has given so much to be and I will be working hard to not count the days but make the days count during my last month in the city of brotherly love.

Quickly, things I’ve learned

1. Meeting the President is so cool! It’s a great story to tell and I love telling it!

2. The coffee shop Good Karma is a great place to get things done on a Saturday afternoon

3. Its going to be hard to leave this city behind come December.  It has helped me in so many ways and I know that I will not be the exactly the same person when I return to Albion in December.

Thanks for reading, hope you learned something and enjoyed my stories.  I’ve got lots more to tell so check back very soon!

Leave a Reply

