Daydreaming of home….

Leave a comment

November 18, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Home sweet home.  Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Philadelphia, I love the time that I’ve spent there and I can see myself returning for Philadelphia in the future, but there is nothing like the few comfort of homes.  I found myself day dreaming of home during my lunch break and remembering the silly conveniences of home.

1. Driving everywhere-  Here in Philly the only transportation I take is the bus.  I’m heading home for thanksgiving on Wednesday and cannot believe that I’m going to spend hours on end in a car driving or riding.  It seems slightly strange to think about

2. Using a dishwasher- In my apartment, my housemates and I are the dishwashers but at home we use a dishwasher.  It’s really the little things that make the difference in day-to-day interactions and living.

3. My bed with lots of pillows Here in Philly I have minimal bedding and pillows just do to shipping and such.  At home I have lots of pillows and blankets on my cozy bed.  I cannot wait to flop down in my bed and momentarily be in heaven.

4. College students- Yes here at TPC there are 62 college students but we are primarily young professionals discovering the city.  When I return to Albion in January I’m going to be surrounded by college students and only college students.  I took a trip to Temple University with my work supervisor and that was the most students I’ve seen in 3 months. It was slightly overwhelming I do have to admit.

It is crazy to think that my time here is closely coming to an end.  The semester is beginning to finish up and the work for the end of the semesters is really piling up.  The big project is the final portfolio and it seems overwhelming right now but I’m just going to take it one step at a time.

So for the things that I’ve learned as usual

1.  I have a slight obsession with front doors:  I have found that I love looking at front doors of homes as I talk my walks.  Each door is unique and I believe it has a story to tell.  Just a hint  for my future portfolio: Walking through open doors or opening closed doors.

2.  I HATE when it is absolutely dark when I return home at 6pm every evening:  The darkness really decreases my motivation to get things done after work which is not good for the amount of things that I have to do.

3.  The people I have met here are people who I am going to stay in contact with for many years to come. Students, faculty and staff have become my family away from home and have been the real cherry on the top of the ice cream sundae.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

