Philly Half Marathon!

Leave a comment

November 21, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello Everyone!

As usual it been a wonderful weekend in Philly.   The weekend is my favorite time of the week, not only because I get to relax a little bit but it also gives me time to explore the city.  There is so much to see and do in the City. I’m pretty sure I could spend an entire year here and not do and see everything this city has to offer.

This weekend I didn’t do that much explore because I was gearing up for my big race.  Today, Sunday November 21st I ran the 17th Annual Philadelphia Marathon and Half Marathon.  It was a great event with tons of participants. I believe they announced that there were 23,000 participants in this years race. The weather was almost perfect (it was just a little cold).  The course was a great scenic route of the entire city (minus the few hills near Fairmont park).

Training for the half marathon has been great while spending the semester in Philly.  I have very much enjoyed getting to run around the city almost every day and its been a great way to get to know the city and its been my little piece of serenity in the city. Here are the few pictures I have from the race.

What I’ve learned

1. Training for the Half Marathon is a lot hard when I don’t have my family support system to get my butt in gear.

2. There is a lot of end of the semester things for TPC.  Lots of work to do in the next 3 1/2 Weeks

3. Running is NOT my favorite sport and 4 months away from the pool is much harder than I thought.  I cannot wait to get back in the pool!

Thanks for reading! Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

Leave a Reply

