An Overflow

Leave a comment

November 30, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Just as this fountain, in a quaint little park that I found while exploring, is overflowing and going in all different directions I feel as I am going in a million different directions for my last few weeks in this wonderful city.

I was fortunate enough to spend the Thanksgiving holiday weekend back in Michigan with my family. It was a wonderful weekend with plenty to be thankful for, a birthday celebration (my birthday to be exact) and plenty of fun to go around.   It was surreal to be back home after having not been there for 13 weeks, to see my brothers and sisters, mom, dad and 2 wonderful nephews.  It was a full house for sure but that’s just the way I like it.  It was much harder than I thought to say goodbye.  I love Philly but I love spending time with my family as well.  No matter the number of times we say goodbye I’ll always be the one to cry.  It’s just the way I am and that’s okay with me.

Now that I’ve made it safely back to Philly the race is on to the finish line and I’m not running that’s for sure!  I don’t want my time here in the city to end.  It has been a wonderful experience and I have made my own little life here in this big city.  Life here has gone by so fast and I do not wish for the days to past faster than they already do.  I still feel that there is so much to do, to see, to experience and to enjoy that I don’t have the time to get it all done.  I think I would have to spend another semester, or another year or a lifetime here to discover all that the city has to offer. But, I can’t stop time so I’ll just have to keep up and do the most that I can.  I”m planning to see a play either White Christmas or The Nutcracker, do some more shopping (especially for awesome Christmas gifts),  eat plenty of delicious food and enjoy the time with wonderful friends that I’ve made over the past 14 weeks.

Things I’ve learned

1.  I’ve decided that a place is home when you can successfully navigate the local grocery store without getting frustrated or lost.  The Superfresh down the street has the strangest layout and I have finally mastered it! Too bad its time to leave

2. Saying goodbye doesn’t get easier.  But tough goodbyes just make for happier reunions.

3. I enjoy my bus ride home from work in the evenings.  It’s a chance to clear my head, gather my thoughts and enjoy some good people watching.

So much to do, so many directions to go with an overflow of excitement, love, nervousness and joy.  That’s my fountain 🙂

Leave a Reply

