The beginning of the end

Leave a comment

December 4, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello,

HOLY COW! Time has flow by and all of a sudden I am facing the last 11 days of my time in Philly.  Feels are mixed because I love the city but I am anxious to return to friends and family in MI.  I’m putting the finishing touches on projects at work, and putting lots of effort into my final portfolio and scheduling my final meetings to end the semester on a high note. It is amazing how much I have learned and experienced during the past 15 weeks and I often can’t put into words what I have learned, how I have grown, how much I have come to love this city.

In the midst of all the work that needs to be done I am finding myself making a final list of things that I want or need to do and I think it gets longer by the day. I want to go shopping, the expressive hand (a pottery painting place a few blocks from my apartment), take a million more photos of everything, find a birthday gift for my great friend Helen, have dinner with my cousins who live outside the city, eat brunch at Sabrina‘s.  The list goes on and on.  There are so many shops and restaurants that I would love to experience that there are just not enough days in the week or hours in the day to get them all done. The moral of the story is there is too much to do and so little time but I am promising myself a return trip to Philly in the future to check a few more things off my list.

Last night I celebrated my birthday and my friends Holly and Lindsey’s birthdays with a nice dinner out with friends.  It was a great reward to the end of the week a great way to start the beginning of the end of my time in this wonderful city.  Here are a few photos from the evening

For the things I’ve learned

1. You’ll never be able to get everything done that you want to but take the time to do what you can

2. The people who I have interacted with this semester have truly made me a better person, a better student and a better professional

3. It is going to be so hard to leave my life here in Philly, it has been an amazing ride and I know the last 11 days won’t let me down.

Thanks for reading 🙂 Now go enjoy something before you miss it!

Leave a Reply

