Just like that…its over

Leave a comment

December 15, 2010 by Caroline Dobbins

Thoughts raced through my head as I walked home alone after closing meeting at TPC this afternoon.  Thoughts of the people who I’ve met, the memories that I’ve made, the things that I’ve learned and the person that I’ve become.  The only way I can think to describe this experience to anyone right now is this quote “From the outside looking in you can’t understand it and from the inside looking out you can’t explain it.”

The experience that I have had for the last 16 weeks has been one of indescribable personal growth, that I sometimes don’t even see in myself, memories, friendships, and connections that have been made will last a life time.  As we sat in the common room, all 62 students sharing what we learned for the semester in the city it was clear that each person had learned something different in a different way.  It was amazing to see so many people who went through the same process during the same time frame with the same people have learned so many different things.

I never knew I could feel so torn between two places.  I am excited to get home but also sad to leave this wonderful piece.  I feel that it is “my place”, “my friends”, “my experience” and as much as I don’t want to leave that behind I understand and want as many people as possible to experience all of what I have experiences for the past 16 weeks.

I want to say thank you to so many people, each person I have met has made my experience that much better.  Each and every TPC student as well as every faculty and staff member have had an impact on my time in the city and it truly would not have been the same with you each of you.  I know that I will forever remember each of you and the Fall 2010 semester in Philadelphia.

Here are some closing day photos

So for one last time from Philadelphia, here is what I’ve learned

1. Packing is such a bummer.

2. TPC has truly become an extension of my family and I believe that it always will be

3. Most importantly,  I have learned to be me.  To share my wonderful, happy, intelligent, and incredible self because if I don’t I’m not helping anyone.

So I will sigh off much like the city of Philly does.

With Love

xoxo

Caroline

Leave a Reply

