Again it has been too long!

Leave a comment

April 3, 2011 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello All!

I’m back and I’m here to stay! I am going to make a serious effort to continue on a regular blogging schedule.  Lately I have been thinking of so many different things to blog about that there are just so many things I could begin to talk about. Life back at Albion is still an adjustment some days but I have been so busy with things on campus that  Philly is no longer the first thing on my mind when I wake up in the morning and the last thing I think about before going to bed.

Just 'hangin around' in Charleston for Spring Break

Since I last posted, swimming has finished for the semester.  Although that finished on a positive note my swims were not as good as I would have liked but it forced me to put things into perspective.  I needed to understand that 8 weeks of training does not rival 6 months of training.  It was difficult to understand that but it has only given me more of a drive to succeed and make my final season the best it can be.  I am excited about the team, the direction we are going and the people who I am so lucky to call my teammates.

On another note, since I last posted, I have also begun the summer internship search.  Wow is that an interesting process.  Its like juggling 6 different glass plates at one time.  I have several opportunities still in the works and I’m anxious to really get the ball rolling so that I can make a final decision on where I will spend my summer and complete on of my final requirements for graduation in 2012.  It is hard to believe that 1 year from now I will be job searching or choosing a graduate program to continue my study.  Four years at Albion has felt more like 4 minutes.  Well that’s enough of that talk, I’m going to enjoy the time I have here while I have the time.

Since so many of my close friends are graduating in  just a few short weeks it has forced me to really begin thinking what I might want to do with my life and I think it changes every day.  I feel that I have so many activities in my life that I really love to do and I often find myself wishing how I could combine each and every one of them.  Business, Photography, Cooking, Teaching, helping others, having fun.  How do I marry each of those.  I believe that if I can ever find a way to combine all of those I will truly be living the life that follows the motto “find something you love to do and you’ll never work a day in your life.”  I want meaning, I want purpose, I want fun, I want excitement, I want stability and most importantly I want a life that I can call my own.  I know I can’t plan this all out for the rest of my life and I know that I need to go with the flow but I’m still not good with uncertainty and I certainly need to become more comfortable being uncomfortable.

Since this is still my learning blog here are three very different learning points for this post.

1. The importance of networking in the real world is amazing.  I now have to learn to make those connections, keep them, nurture them and use them to my advantage.

2. Blogging is something that I really enjoy.  I don’t care if people read, I do it for me and anyone who cares to know what goes on in my very busy head.

3. No matter what I end up doing with my life, and heck it might be a million different things, I need to have meaning and purpose.  I want to be involved in something that is more than myself.

Thanks for reading 🙂 Hope you learned something

Leave a Reply

