365 days….

Leave a comment

May 31, 2011 by Caroline Dobbins

Hello All,

We so often use the phrase “What a difference a year makes”  I’ve used this phrase before but I don’t know that I’ve ever thought that it really applied to my life.  I don’t think I’ve ever taken the time to reflect on the difference a year has made in my life.

To think one year ago I was attending Gerstacker summer school making some of the best friends that I know will last a life time. Struggling to write my ethics papers, working through that darn computer simulated business model and trying to have some fun.  Along with summer school I was finishing up my training for my very 1st half marathon, something that I never thought I would thought I would do.  I look back to a year ago and I feel that I was a timid young girl that wasn’t always sure of herself, wasn’t sure what she wanted out of life and tried to plan far too much.

Since then I have spent 16 weeks on an experiential learning rollercoaster in Philadelphia, PA through a program called The Philadelphia Center.  I had never spent this much time away from home or out of Michigan and needless to say I was nervous.  I was going to be a little girl in a big city, having a job, living on my own, cooking for myself and figuring things out for myself.  During my time in Philly I didn’t realize the impact the whole experience was having on my life, it was truly changing the person I was.

I returned home in December a more confident, more professional, more independent and more dynamic individual.  Though returning to school at Albion was not easy in January I knew I something new to offer in the class, a different outlook, real life experience and a personal opinion and that was an exciting feeling.  The semester flew by as I finished my junior year full of swimming, Delta Gamma, school, family, friends and lots of other things. As the year wound down I found myself again looking for my second internship and the next adventure was about to begin.

Now, I have relocated to a different city, a new house, new people, a new internship and a completely new experience.  A year ago, I don’t think I would have gotten this internship because I would not have presented myself with the confidence and self-assurance and determination that I feel my placement was really looking for.   It’s now week 3 of my work at Inner Circle Media and I couldn’t be happier.  I am learning something new, I’m involved with just about every aspect of the company and I’m really learning what it takes to be a woman in the business world.

With all of that said, just take a few minutes to look back on the difference a year has made in your life.  There will always be ups and downs and days that you will question what you are doing (I’ve had my fair share that’s for sure) but if you persevere with a positive attitude the difference 365 days can make is truly amazing.

What I’ve learned

1. With out the unending support of my family and friends life would be much harder. I don’t say thank you enough

2. Growing up can be scary, fun, exciting, unnerving and unexpected all at the same time. Embrace it 🙂

3. Never say you can’t (I’m now about to run my 3rd half marathon, one year after my very first)

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

