Woah! It’s Almost August

Leave a comment

July 26, 2011 by Caroline Dobbins

Well, Hello everyone!

My apologies for the very very long delay in posts.  I didn’t realize how long it had been until I looked at the title of my last blog “Its been 1 month“.  The title of this blog should really be, Wow It’s been almost 3 months.  This summer has just absolutely flown by and I’ve had a what feels like a whirlwind of activities going on this summer.

The absolute constant this summer has been my internship at Inner Circle Media.   It has truly turned into an experience that has gone above and beyond my expectations.  I have been able to be the “go to” marketing assistant in the organization, work face to face with company clients, work side by side with my awesome boss Carrie all while learning something new every day.  I’ve done lots of social media research and website search engine optimization and search engine marketing.  It’s all very interesting stuff but it’s an ever-changing area of work and I like that it keeps me on my toes.  I can only hope that I will find a job a year from now that has been as amazing as my weeks at ICM.  Only a week and a half left and it’s hard to believe!

Molly and me meeting for the first time

The most exciting part of the summer this far was the arrival of my new niece Molly Campbell Dobbins arrived on June 25th.

Little Miss Molly

She is absolutely precision and I’m hoping she’ll be Aunt Caroline’s little water bug!

I, almost always, enjoy getting up and going to work, though some mornings are harder than others but I do realize how hard it is to balance work every day and the other things that I do on a daily basis.  As usual I like to keep active with whatever I can so I of course decided to sign up for, what seems like, lots of race.  At the beginning of June I completed my 3rd 1/2 Marathon, the Dexter Ann Arbor Half Marathon.  What a hot day that was! But none the less Vicki Baker, Ryan Arey and myself all crossed the finish line. It’s always nice to cross that finish line knowing that you’ve trained the best you possibly could, even though the results may not reflect that.

Just a few weeks ago, crazy me, sign up for another half marathon in Grand Ledge.  That race was again, not one of my best, but I’m trying to look at the progress I’ve made from a year and a half ago.  I wouldn’t even imagine running 1 half marathon let alone 2 in one summer only a few weeks apart. And the events keep coming….that’s right, I’m that crazy some times.  On Sunday August 7th, I’ll dive into the waters of Little Traverse Bay in Harbor Springs for a wonderful morning open water swim, The Coastal Crawl.

Beautiful Little Traverse Bay - Harbor Springs

And it doesn’t stop there, I’ve got my 3rd Triathlon on August 14th.  I’m very excited about this event as I think I’ll be able to improve on last years time.  So yep, needless to say I love to work out (most days) and I really enjoy having something to compete for.  I don’t have to be first I just have to have a finish line to cross. Oh gosh! I almost forgot, I took a fabulous weekend trip back to the City of Brotherly Love, Philly for The Philadelphia Center Alumni reunion.  The city was wonderful and it was great to be back.  Lots of walking, lots of sun and a great time!

Finally, the realization that senior year of college is fast approaching has really started to hit me in the last few weeks.  As many of you may know I’m a planner and I love to have a plan so I’ve begun to try to set up the plan for the next step forward in my life.  It’s slightly overwhelming with all the possibilities that the future might hold. Graduate school, but for what? A job, but where and doing what? Lots of questions that I’m just going to take one step at a time.

Dad and I after our 57 mile Pink ribbon Ride in Boyne City in June

My dad reminded me over dinner the other evening, that I need to take time to enjoy my senior year and that no matter what I do, if I do my absolute best that is all anyone could ever ask for. So for now I say, let’s get senior year started but I’m in no rush to have it over with.  Time in class, time on campus, time with friends, time with the swim team and time being a wonderful Albion College student.  Exciting things to come in the upcoming months.  I’ll be sure to keep everyone updated in a more timely manner.

Quickly what I’ve learned

1. Take life one day at a time: Sometimes it’s not worth trying to plan everything

2. My family is amazing: I already knew this but I think they get more amazing every day!

3. Time really does go faster as you get older! That is certainly not a lie!

Thanks for reading (sorry it was so unbelievably long!)

Leave a Reply

