My newest job

Leave a comment

August 30, 2011 by Caroline Dobbins

If you know me, you know that I like to keep busy.  That means jobs on campus, extra curricular activities, mentoring, all on top of going to class.  Well, surprise surprise, I have added one more thing to my plate.  I am a FYE (First Year Experience) Mentor.  That means I get to work with 18 incoming first year Albion students to help them successfully make the transition from high school to college.

This position is part teacher, part friend and part mentor and I’m really enjoying the variety.   I do feel like I struggle to stress the importance of time management, how to party responsibly and how to talk to professors but I hope that my students are at least getting something out of our weekly hour together.

Working with my FYE students has made me reflect on my journey to and through Albion College.  It is been a wonderful ride and Albion has given me so much.  An education, life long friends, business connections, amazing memories, and much more, all have come from my 3 years at Albion.  If my students understand nothing else all semester, I hope they know that they cannot take a single moment at Albion for granted.  I understand that tests are no fun and roommate drama in inevitable, but some how it’s those moments that teach you the most.

Stay tuned to catch up with my FYE class.  I’m sure there will be some great stories and memories made.

Leave a Reply

