Wrapped up in life…

Leave a comment

June 2, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

IMG_2641Hello there, it feels good to be typing the keys again.  Many months have passed since I last wrote about what was happening in my life, but don’t fret, I’ve set a new goal. For the month of June (starting today). I will write something each day, some days will be short but I will do it.  I’ve realized that I do in fact enjoy writing.  I can’t quite pinpoint what I enjoy but I’m okay with that.  Doing something for myself is really all that matters.

Now for some substance, a readers digest version of what I’ve been up to.

1. Work: Like any young professional, work keeps me pretty busy. Some days I’m absolutely exhausted when I walk in the door after a day in the office and a workout in the gym and it’s all I can do to spread some peanut butter on a toaster waffle for dinner (don’t worry, that’s not a regular occurrence). Most days however, I try to spend the day learning; Learning about Detroit, learning about marketing, learning about social media and anything else I can get my hands on.  I’ve realized that I’ve missed the structured learning inside the classroom so I’m working to create habits that can satisfy that urge, it’s certainly an art.  I want to spend my entire career learning new things, so why not start now?

2. Challenge Detroit:  Nine months down, three more to go. Time sure does fly! September of 2012 feels both light-years away and like just yesterday.  As a group, the Fellows have just started our eighth non-profit challenge. It’s hard to believe we’re almost done, it just feels like we just started yet we’ve done so much. Recently we have all been talking a lot about what we’ve learned, what we want to do in our remaining time and what

I'm working on it...

I’m working on it…

comes next. Those conversations often leave me feeling unsettled and slightly anxious but I’m teaching myself that I don’t always need to plan my life years in advance. Life doesn’t work that way.  I’m taking the days as they come, setting goals for the near future and doing what it takes to achieve those goals.  That is really all I can ask of myself.

3. Enjoying Life: I’m starting to feel like Detroit is becoming home. It took me much longer than I thought it would and there were days that I wanted nothing more than to be back at school, with professors that knew me, classes I understood and surrounded by friends, but that wasn’t reality. I’m feeling like I’m hitting a stride, taking time to enjoy life, sacrificing some sleep for the moments I can’t get back and really living, more than I have in the past. It’s a fine balance, that’s for sure, but like anything else the only way I’ll figure it out is to try.

So there you have it, a glimpse into what I’ve been up to. I could probably write for days and still miss details from the past months, but no one has time to read of those details.

Over the next month I’ll be working to create a variety of posts on lots of different topics to keep it interesting for anyone that might read them. If you’re dying to have me write about something feel free to send it my way, hopefully I’ll have something to say. Hopefully someone will enjoy the writings over the next month, but most importantly, I’ll be writing for me.

Leave a Reply

