Has it really almost been 1 year…

Leave a comment

June 6, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

I’ve never really felt like time was running away from me or agreed with the phrase that ‘time flies’.  After this year with Challenge Detroit I officially get it.  Where has the time gone.

challengedetroitgroupI’ve spent the last 9 months living, working, playing and giving in Detroit as a young professional on a mission to aid in the effort of revitalizing Detroit and the Detroit Metro area. It has been a whirlwind of experiences, learning, giving and fun.  It seems like just yesterday that we were starting our week long, exhausting orientation, starting new jobs and diving in Detroit head first.  I never thought Challenge Detroit would give me the opportunity to learn so much about Detroit in such a short period of time and help me to begin to fall in love in with the charm of the city.

Now that it is June and summer is in full swing I’m eager to spend the summer enjoying all the city has to offer.  Food trucks, outdoor concerts, bike tours, kayaking, outdoor movies and so much more, but I know that as I enjoy the summer the next cohort of Challenge Detroit Fellows is anxiously awaiting their chance to dive right in. I’m excited for the next cohort to experience what I have, things that I haven’t and make the most of their year in Detroit. I do have to admit that I’m sort of in denial that my time with the amazing program will be coming to an end, but I suppose I’ll have to share.  If you’d like to get to know the next cohort of Fellows, feel free to check them out.

Leave a Reply

