Women 2.0 Founder Friday

Leave a comment

June 7, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

Happy Friday everyone! It’s that time of the week that we all like to kick back, relax and get ready to enjoy all that we possibly can during our all to short weekends. I’m certainly one of those people but once a month, I extend my Friday evenings just a little bit and attend an event called Founder Friday.

Women 2.0 “is a media company offering content, community and conferences for aspiring and current women innovators in technology. Our mission is to increase the number of female founders of technology startups with inspiration, information and education through our platform.” Their website is full of inspiring stories, wonderful resources and even opportunities to change careers. I frequent their website and enjoy their tweets as I begin my career as women, even if my path doesn’t lead me to coding or founding my own company.

Now about this “Founder Friday” thing. Yes, Founder Friday is a monthly event held in cities throughout the world where founders of tech based businesses share their stories

Women 2.0of success, tips for thriving in the tech world and lessons learned along the way.  Detroit’s Founder Friday events started in late 2012 and continue to grow and prove to be interesting and inspiring evenings for me each time I attend. At tonight’s Founder Friday Detroit event we listened to Angela Livingston founder of Grit Design and Sizzlepig. Her story is one of a transition away from corporate America at successful advertising agencies around the country working on huge projects with even bigger budgets, giving that all up and realizing that she wanted to do things her own way.

She offered some advice, as most speakers at Founder Friday do and I’d like to share them with you.

1. Don’t let fear get in the way 

2. Find the best team possible and then treat them like family

3. Don’t be intimidated by a suit, a portfolio or a title, you are a person and so are they

4. Align yourself with those like you and those that share your values 

5. Prove yourself, every single day. “Be crave worthy”

6. Be grateful for everything

I’m going to save my thoughts on these pieces of advice for tomorrow’s musings as it is still Friday evening.  Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

