You can’t lose what you don’t have

Leave a comment

June 13, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

IMG_1183Sometimes it’s hard to remember that phrase, especially for me.  A very important person in my life reminded me of this the other morning.  Why do we get so attached to the idea of the perfect apartment, the perfect job, the perfect person or the perfect friend? It’s not that we should settle for what we have but rather that we should go after exactly what we want and not stop until we’re sure we have it.

I know I talk myself into not ruffling feathers or pushing for more answers because I don’t want to jeopardize anything, but the reality is, I don’t actually have anything to jeopardize. Lucky me I’ve got some pretty amazing people to make sure I’m not selling myself short.

It’s important to have that mentor, that friend or that parent that is constantly pushing you to be your very best self.  They are usually the person who sees you best potential and can help you identify where you might be selling yourself short. It’s going to be uncomfortable, remember you only really grow when you’re uncomfortable, but what is important to remember is that you’re going to be a better professional and a better individual.

Right now in my life, the person who pushes me the most is my Dad.

IMG_1179He has always been in my corner.  The last person to yell my name as I stepped up on the block at swim meets, to the first hug I received after walking across the stage after graduation, I know he wants what’s best for me. Now that I’m transitioning into life as a young professional not only is he my biggest cheerleader but he’s also my sounding board for ideas, my mentor for career choices and development as a professional. I know that I’m capable of pushing myself but sometimes you just need the person to tell you that you’re not doing your very best.

No matter if you’re happy at your job, looking for a new job, comfortable with your life or looking for a change, I’ve come to realize that you need that person.  So go out, find your person, the person that has your best interest at mind but isn’t afraid to remind you that “you can’t lose what you don’t have”.

 

 

*Happy Father’s day to my amazing Dad. I’m lucky and more grateful each day for your wisdom, guidance and love.*

 

 

Leave a Reply

