A personal piece of paradise

1

June 14, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

IMG_0414

Some people go on extravagant vacations to far off places and others go backpacking or hiking through the woods. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to travel and I might consider taking a hike (sleeping in a tent might be out of the question) but when all I need is a little peace and quite, a few days of true rest and relaxation a particular place calls my name.  A place that holds nineteen years of memories with family and close friends, of birthdays, thanksgivings, winters, springs, summers and fall. A place I lovingly call “The Hill”.

IMG_1733

A house perched at the top of a hill overlooking a beautiful valley, with views of golf courses and ski slopes. Where you can actually hear yourself think and the loudest sound each evening is the rustling of the leaves on the trees. Each time I walk in the door and set my sights on my favorite green chair (in which I’m writing this right now), I know I’ve arrived. Arrived at a place that does and always will bring me comfort, relaxation, clarity and joy.

birthday2

This weekend on ‘the hill’ will be a quick one with just mom and dad. Dad and I will be participating in the Pink Ribbon ride in Boyne City tomorrow morning (ride distance TBD). Our day will then continue on as normal with lunch at one of our favorite spots, an afternoon nap, followed by church and a quite evening. This pattern is one that we repeat often while visiting but I don’t mind it one bit. I’m here to relax for the weekend. I do what I love while I’m here and that’s what matters to me.

birthday

I might sound like a Pure Michigan commercial, but I don’t mind it one bit. I’m grateful for the time I spend with family and friends in my personal piece of paradise and look forward to many many years and memories to come.

One thought on “A personal piece of paradise

  1. Erika duBois Latchw says:

    I can’t wait to be up there! I wish I could be up there more! So what’s the favorite lunch place … in case I haven’t been there yet! 🙂 Enjoy “the hill”. Maybe I’ll see you over the 4th like I normally do!

Leave a Reply

