So what’s next…

Leave a comment

June 26, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

That question, it seems to follow you as you go through life taking slightly different forms When you’re graduating from high school it’s often “So are you going to college? Oh really, what a great school! What will you study?” Four years later, after you’ve most likely changed the answer to the question of what you’ll study, the question switches to “Now that you’re an ‘adult’ whats the next step?” blog8To which you probably answer, graduate school, a job or best of all, I’m still deciding. Hopefully not too long after college graduation you’ll be able to confidently answer that question and get to enjoying all that ‘adult life’ has to offer.  A full-time job, more bills, rent payments, as well as some pretty fun things too.

You’d like to think the question would stop there…. WRONG. I have this sneaky feeling that the question that I so often dread is going to follow me around for the rest of my life. From a possible job switch, to the next city to live in, from the next running race to the next step with that great idea. Don’t get me wrong, I appreciate when people are interested in what I’m doing and I admit to asking the exact same questions of my peers, it’s a great conversation starter.  My dislike for the question comes from a difference place.

blog9When I’m asked what’s next my mind goes immediately to “Oh my gosh, I don’t have a plan. Is my plan the right plan? Is my plan to big or too small? Are they going to think I’m crazy?” I’m not exactly sure why my brain immediately goes in to minor panic mode. I’m sure it stems from my want to get things right, make the ‘right’ decisions along with taking the advice from others. Whatever it is, I’m trying to make myself more okay with the idea of not picking the ‘right’ choice but rather picking the choice that I feel is best for me. I’ve got a lot of work to do but all things in life are a process (so I’m told).

We are all certainly works in progress in our personal and professional lives and everywhere in between and I wish I had some words of wisdom to share but the truth is, I’m still figuring it out, every minute of every day, every day of every week and every week of every month. One thing I do know for sure… I’m exciting to discover my next answer to the ‘dreaded question.’

 

Leave a Reply

