The necessity for conversation…

Leave a comment

June 27, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

What a weird title, right? Well that phrase just jumped into my head and my fingers and brain are going to run with it. There are few things I enjoy more than a thoughtful conversation with friends, family or colleagues. These conversations a can be about the small things or a mission to solve life’s biggest questions, either way they are conversations, I believe, each person needs.

I’m not one that would categorize myself as an extremely outgoing individual who’s willing to talk to anyone about just about anything. I also wouldn’t say I’m shy or quite.  blog10What I do know for sure is that a value the quality of the relationship over the quantity of connections. I believe there is a true and distinct difference between a relationship and a connection.  A relationship, to me is a constant conversation with someone who can serve as your sounding board, a person that you trust to give you their honest and true opinion.  These relationships take time to develop, at least for me.  A connection is a person that you can hold a conversation with but you might not take on those tough questions and they aren’t one of the first people you call with good or bad news.

Of course everyone needs a balance of relationships and connections in their lives, and that balance is different for each person. For me, I know that nurturing friendships and relationships takes time and there are few people in my life that I know I could stay up till 3am talking with. It is those conversations, not always at 3am, that seem to put things in perspective for me, force me to reflect and often step back and enjoy life and everything that it might send my way.

What I’m getting at is that, sometimes we need to take the time to reconnect with those that give us the best perspective  the most honesty and the best support for those meaningful conversations.  You might not even realize what’s missing but take the time to reconnect with a close friend that you haven’t spoken with recently, or call up a family member just because and see where the conversation takes you. Odds are you’ll leave the coffee shop, the bar, or hang up the phone feeling rejuvenated and grateful.

Leave a Reply

