Enjoy the little moments

1

June 29, 2013 by Caroline Dobbins

So often we let life fly by without enjoying the small things.  The moments that bring smiles to our faces and joy to our lives however short-lived the moment may be.  Today was certainly filled with lots of those little moments.  Since I want to continue to enjoy my favorite green chair and an evening in my favorite place, I’ll give you just a few.

1.  Getting to eat lunch with my entire family! 10 people between the ages of 2 and 62 blog1sitting around a picnic table, on the dock overlooking Lake Charlevoix. It’s a wonderful feeling to be surrounded by the hustle and bustle of family and those moments will forever be wonderful memories.

2. My nephew Owen, when describing something that he wanted “I saw it at Ace the helpful place.” Keep in mind that “Ace the helpful place” is the slogan for Ace Hardware.  Owen said it so nonchalantly that everyone at the table laughed.  Just one of the many things that adorable 7-year-old says that make me smile.

blog23. Owen (7) was trying to persuade Ian (4) to say who is favorite Aunt was while I was sitting in the car. He choices of course were either me or Owen’s mom Stephanie. At first Ian didn’t have a response, good choice on his part.  A few minutes later Ian chimes in with this wonderful statement “I know my favorite… the FIRE ANT!” I actually laughed so hard I cried for that moment. Gotta love when kids don’t always know the differences between words that sounds that same but mean different things.

4. A beautiful seven mile run along on a peaceful trail. Listening rustle of the trees, the moments of turning my brain off and just letting my body do the work and the feeling of accomplishment when you finally finish. I like running in Detroit, but I’ve got to say I LOVE running in Northern Michigan.

Of course those were just a few of the small moments that helped make my day wonderful. Most of all the time spent with family, my parents, brother, sister, sister-in-law, brother-in-law and two nephews and niece. I love my independent young professional life in Detroit but there is certainly nothing that can replace time spent enjoying the little moments that make the best memories with the nine people who will always matter.

One thought on “Enjoy the little moments

  1. Bill says:

    Who is 62???

Leave a Reply

