It’s full of setbacks

Leave a comment

June 2, 2014 by Caroline Dobbins

On October 21, 2013 I spent my lunch hour feverishly writing. The result of that hour are written the pages you see below. There are goals, hopes, dreams, wishes and questions written on these pages. Unfortunately when I closed the notebook that day, I also stopped thinking about the things I had written.

photo (7)

I’m disappointed to realize that I have not acted on these goals. They seem so simple but I didn’t make them a priority. I didn’t allow myself the time in my life to implement the necessary actions into my daily routine and that is no one’s fault but my own.

To say I’m disappointed in myself would be false, but to say I want to learn from this setback would be true. I’m starting to realize that there is a difference between learn from mistakes and beating yourself up for making a mistake.

We’re half way through 2014, which seems hard to believe, but after a conversation with a close friend I’ve decided it’s an opportunity to look towards the next six months and make a the most of them. It won’t be easy, the best thing never are. Every day won’t be a success, if they were I wouldn’t be learning and the work will not be done on December 31st as we ring in 2015.

I hope to explore lots of things over the next 30 days in writing, but unlike last year, I don’t want it to end on July 1st. This is my start, admitting that I haven’t done everything perfect or right but understanding that I should be learning every single day and waking up with the purpose of making myself better and in turn the world I live in a better place.

Leave a Reply

