A Giant Leap or Baby Steps

Leave a comment

June 4, 2014 by Caroline Dobbins

Change, obstacles and forward progress are inevitable. Each of those items exists in our everyday lives, at work, at home, and everywhere in between. Being comfortable with and willing to actively participate is something different than just accepting that they will happen. 

I admit, I often see making change as a giant mountain that I am expected (by myself and others) to leap, effortlessly in a single bound. I understand that goals and achievements are comprised of small successes and learnings but it is something that I feel I really struggle with. And that struggle has recently been leaving me with the feeling that I’m not actively writing and creating my story, my legacy, my mountains and my success.

Of course I know and understand that there are tactics that make goal setting and achievement and I like to believe that I’m fairly good at helping others understand those steps. However, when applying them to my own life, goals, or even the creation of goals, it seems overwhelming.

I suppose that acknowledging that this, right now, is a struggle for me is the first step and the next step is just to take a step in a direction that, at that moment in time, seems right. How do you turn your mountains in to manageable hills that lead you down the a path that is challenging, fulfilling, compelling and exciting?

IMG_3869So I leave you with this, the statement that inspired these words.

_____________________

Sometimes the smallest step in the right direction ends up being the biggest step of your life. Tip toe if you must, but take the step. 

 

Leave a Reply

