The absences of words

Leave a comment

June 5, 2014 by Caroline Dobbins

We spend our days filling the air with statements, questions, ideas, songs, thoughts and so much more. However, when do we take time to enjoy what exists when all of those things are absent?

silence

I know, for me it is difficult to sit in silence. I usually have music or background television on while in my apartment, never mind the constant hum of the city outside my windows. True silence sometimes seems frightening, it’s a time where my mind begins to wander, the big ‘life questions’ seem to creep in and the general feeling of get up and do something start flooding in.

But what if those are the moments that lead us to the most influential decisions or brightest ideas?  What would happen if I sat just five minutes longer in those moments of silence?

 

 

Leave a comment